The Bare Necessities

Before everyone gets all excited, let me begin by saying this is NOT a communist rant. I consider myself more conservative than liberal, actually. Just keep that in mind as you’re reading.

I wonder about many things, mostly because I have a lot of free time right now. I worry about myself sometimes, and our society as a whole. God has blessed a lot of us Americans very much, but I wonder if we are not responding to the blessing in the right way. I am probably more guilty of this than many. I have a computer, as you would imagine, a smart phone, a TV, many clothes, and a good house, among other things. I probably eat too much, including restaurant meals, while others around the world are starving. I find myself worrying about things that are insignificant, and feeling entitled to the lifestyle I enjoy, as if it was not the product of God’s mercy and generations of hardworking, innovative people before me. I know I can’t be the only one who takes it all for granted.

I wonder if God wants me to live an alternative lifestyle. I wonder if I should be a minimalist- having nothing but food, water, a place to lie down for the night, and cooking utensils. Is that how people should live? Do we need all the other distractions?

Look, don’t get all upset, please. I’m sure that you worked hard for what you have. Maybe you even appreciate it, you might even be a very generous person who helps the community. No, I don’t want a commi-one-world-government. I’m just thinking out loud here. I’m not condemning. I’m not even saying that I will do it. I’m not sure if I’m capable. You don’t need to go to super duper extremes to live a healthy, modest life.

But I do have one point to make. I know a lot of people who are really snobby, and I can be snobby too. Snobs look down on people that don’t have what they have. They judge people based on their cars or clothes, things that won’t even matter when all is said and done. What’s more important, possessions and positions, or eternal souls? Sadly, we don’t always chose the latter.

Leave a Reply

