Am I in danger of the fire of Hell?

But I tell you that anyone who is angry with a brother or sister will be subject to judgment. Again, anyone who says to a brother or sister, ‘Raca,’ is answerable to the court. And anyone who says, ‘You fool!’ will be in danger of the fire of hell.

Matthew 5:22

th

I spent a lot of yesterday and this morning angry at the world. And according to the Bible, this is not a good thing at all. That’s right, just because being pissed at everyone is normal and inevitable doesn’t mean that it’s no big deal. So I should stop it. Yes, I am not going to be angry anymore. Starting now.

Ugh, but why can’t people just do things that make sense? Then I wouldn’t need to be so mad! Oh, God, please help! Heaven and earth (swoons), if they’d only listen to me!

See, now I’m back to where I started.

When we’re mad,  we can’t be joyful. When we’re mad, we are indifferent at best to our blessings. When we’re mad, we can’t hide it, and it makes other people feel uncomfortable.

I feel a little better now because I forced myself to put things into perspective. Remind myself that this problem is insignificant in the grand scheme of things. But sadly, this rage is not something you can easily resolve within yourself. It’s a daily, hourly, secondly (not even a word) battle.

Life is just too short to be angry, as I believe the old saying goes.

Unless you’re angry for a good reason, like Jesus was when he turned over all those tables. But that’s another post for another day my friends.

Leave a Reply

