Bias, Diversity, Crucifixion

I am taking this class called “Managing Diverse Teams.” It’s pretty much what it sounds like: a business management class about teams and diversity. It’s interesting at times. We learn about how we are inherently biased and often let that bias influence our decisions, subconsciously, of course, unless you’re more racist. I think a lot of it is true, but I can’t say I always agree with the attitude of the professor and/or the authors of the articles we read. Obviously, it is a very secular and liberal college that I attend, so none of it should be a surprise, but sometimes I find myself a little unsettled. I recall a comment the other day made by a fellow classmate. She said that she took one of the IAT (in case you don’t know, it’s a test that is supposed to measure your bias against certain groups or things by picking up subtle differences in your reaction time when, for example, associating “good” with “white” vs. “good” with “black.” Whew, that was a long parenthetical). She reported her result that she was biased towards Christians. Then, the professor made some kind of remark about how it was from “12 years of Catholic education” That may have been an assumption on the professor’s part, or maybe the girl mentioned it and I don’t remember. Anyway, I was a little put off by this. I’m not really sure where to begin, there just seems to be something very wrong about that whole exchange.  It’s seemed like the professor was really saying, “Ok, well, you’re in the real world now, time to forget all that garbage.” 

This brings up an important question: should Christians be biased towards other Christians? Part of me thinks that this is absolutely right, the same part of me that doesn’t agree with full-on, no-nonsense gender equality in every profession and industry. Sorry ladies. I mean, we’re not supposed to marry non Christians, right? We shouldn’t hang out with people who are going to cause us to sin, right?

The other part is saying wait, hold up. Where’s the democracy? What happened to loving on everybody, no matter who they are? And just because someone isn’t a Christian now doesn’t mean that they never will be. Right?

I think the answer is that we can be biased to fellow Christians, but we should love everyone. Because if we don’t treat everyone with respect and kindness, who are we and what are we even doing on earth? What happened to love thine enemies? Look at Matthew 5:47:  And if you greet only your own people, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that?

In this class, we do these journals as homework based on what we read. It sounds straightforward enough, but the grading is pretty tough. I only got 7/10 on my first one, and I was convinced it was fine! Today, I just finished a journal entry where I mentioned my religion as it relates to my identity. It’s an intimidating thing, putting yourself out there. It makes you feel embarrassed, self conscious. You know people are going to start seeing you in a different way, you know they may be “biased” against you, and now you’re in big trouble if you reveal too much human imperfection. But you do it, and you hold your head up high, and you pray to God that they won’t try nailing you to a cross. 

 

Leave a Reply

