A Metaphor Explained- Why this blog is called “underground voices”

It has a lot to do with the fact that I liked the name, to be quite honest. But there’s much more to it than that.

It’s not all that important where I am, what my name is, or what the exact circumstances are surrounding my predicament. But here is what I think that you should know about me.

So the title of the blog. It’s not because I work in a subway. It’s not because I’m trapped in a well. And it’s not because I’m the founder of some kind of Neo-Underground Railroad movement to free African Americans from modern forms of oppression. But that would be kind of interesting if it were true. 

Simply put, I am a Christian who is not allowed to freely and openly express my views and practice my religion. The reasons surrounding that are private, but it is the reality. Does that mean that I am being tortured and imprisoned? Absolutely not. Show up with some food and water and an escape plan for me and I’ll just laugh (after thanking you for your concern, of course). And it doesn’t even mean that I have no opportunities to do what I believe God wants me to. It just means that my life is a bit different. 

If you would like to call it persecution, it would be considered the mildest possible kind. I am not the Apostle Paul here. But I am a Christian who has to undergo different kinds of obstacles than some other Christians, but that doesn’t mean that I necessarily have it worse off.

Sometimes, being forced into the underground is a blessing. It makes you more passionate, more appreciative; it is the ultimate antidote to indifference and stuffiness. But you must guard your heart, of course, and make sure that you are not just doing it for the thrill. And you must also make sure that when you dream of your own freedom in the distant future, you are thinking of the right kind of freedom, and for the right reasons. Galatians 5:13 puts it nicely: You, my brothers and sisters, were called to be free. But do not use your freedom to indulge in the flesh; rather, serve one another humbly in love. 

So there’s a couple caveats. But I wouldn’t say that my life is all glamor and sleuth. I’m not just an onward Christian spy. I too get complacent, indifferent, and doubtful. And I have experienced being in a real Christian environment, which was my high school. So I know what it’s like to be mainstream too,  surrounded by people who agree with you, but not always with their whole heart. Which is, at times, just as frustrating as concrete opposition. So this in itself has its own set of problems. 

The point of this was to let you know what it feels like here in the underground. If you are experiencing something similar and want to talk, or if you just want to talk, shoot me an email mlr96@rocketmail.com. Otherwise, have a great day, and remember to keep pushing on while resisting the myriad of temptations. 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

