And Lead Us Not Into Temptation

Funny, how just a few days ago, I would have told you that I didn’t care about certain things at all. “I have more important things to think about, like writing, my faith, school, etc.” 

But then arrived Temptation. I told him to go away, but I didn’t mean it completely. So he stayed in my presence, and I even led him on a little. He said, “Look, don’t you want this? Don’t you want that?”

I said, “Maybe, that does seem fun.”

“Yeah, it does, doesn’t it. Don’t worry about what He thinks. Your life would be so much easier without Him around.”

“Yeah, I guess it would. It wouldn’t be right, but…”

“Who cares?”

“No, no, no, no, get away. This isn’t what I really want. This isn’t what’s good for me. I mean, maybe I want it. Just for a little while, but… and why are you insulting Him? He knows what’s good for me.”

“But you know you want it now.”

“No, that’s base, that’s stupid, that’s superficial and wrong in every way. By common sense alone I know it to be false and vain and hopeless.”

“Why are you denying yourself. You know you want it. You know you like it.”

And he choked me with smoke and blinded me with mirrors.

“So I do want it, I do like it, but I can’t have it.”

“Maybe you could.”

“So what if I could? And I think I’m doing wrong just by admitting I like it.”

“But it’s the truth, and you can’t help it.”

“So, maybe I can’t help it. But I have a friend who can help me.”

“Oh, you do, don’t you? Your imaginary friend?”

“He’s not imaginary.”

“Maybe not, but he’s kind of a square.”

“God, God, please help me! Get rid of Temptation.”

“He’ll never hear you.”

“God, please, get rid of him. I want to only love You. Oh, God, don’t you hear me? Could I cry any louder? How long must I anguish with this awful creature and feed off his lies?”

“I hear you, daughter,” said God.

“Then please, get rid of him, why won’t you?”

“You must let go, first.”

“Well, it’s easier said than done.”

“You must let go, and hold on to me.”

“Oh, okay, okay then.”

“Are you ready?”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

