Diplomatic for Christ

We are told, over and over in our world, the importance of respecting other cultures. “When in Rome, do as the Romans do.” Assimilate, is basically the message. If you don’t assimilate, then you must think that you’re better than everyone else. But you see, I don’t really believe in this.

Do I think you should go to a foreign country wearing an American flag shirt and acting like a total buffoon who can’t comprehend a different lifestyle from your own? No- okay, Far be it from me to be to tell you to be that person. It’s healthy to eat things other than French fries, believe me. And do I think that American culture is ultra-awesome and superior? No, it has its good and bad, just like any culture.

I just don’t think it’s necessary to totally assimilate into a culture and totally accept every aspect of a culture- even your own culture. Even American culture. Because culture is just a system created by man. As Christians, we should try to assimilate into a Christian culture, a culture based on Biblical standards.

Am I saying that all culture is bad? No. Am I saying that you shouldn’t strive to connect and understand different kinds of people? No, I’m just saying that there’s a better culture that defies borders and time and space and lasts for all eternity.

Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, love for the Father is not in them.
-1 John 2:15

20131201-220753.jpg

Photo credit: afrankangle.wordpress.com

Leave a comment