Spiritual Warfare

Lately, I’ve been wrestling a lot with Satan. But at least I have the advantage of having God in my corner, and the awareness that there is such a thing as spiritual warfare. It’s a very real thing in my opinion. They should make a movie about it. 

Satan is a very creative being-  he’s always coming up with new ways to try to tear me away from God. When he isn’t terribly successful in one area, he tries another. Since he was been a little less successful using materialism to distract me, he has been using, well, my own insanity to lead me astray. And you may think that I am just throwing the word “insanity” out there as a joke or exaggeration, but in all honesty, I don’t believe I’m completely sane. I’ve never been told by a shrink that I have any kind of mental disorder, I just know. And since I have no official illness, I don’t take any drugs. My only means of coping with this problem are food and coffee. And prayer, on a good day.

So I don’t have a shrink, I consider the Holy Spirit a good enough healer. Even if the results are sporadic, and don’t occur overnight. But I feel a lot better at the moment, and that’s all that can be asked for. But back to the main point.

Satan tries to make me question everything. He tries to make me believe that I am evil and that there is no hope for improvement. He tells me that I am bound to make a raging hypocrite of myself, so I might as well commit to the cause. He leads me on to believe that He will win, and that God will lose. But I don’t really believe that is true. 

I believe that while God hates my sin, He will find a way to use it for good. An example of this is in 1 Chronicles 21 (Spoiler Alert). Satan causes David to sin by counting his men (I don’t understand how the numbering was a sin, but I’m sure there’s more to it), but even still, God uses the circumstance for good. On seeing David’s repentance, he cancels the punishment, and tells David to buy that threshing floor, which will be the future site of the temple that Solomon would build. 

I don’t believe that God causes people to sin. It is against his nature, He hates sin. But I think that, after the fact, he is happy to use the circumstances of sin for His benefit. It’s like the old saying, “When life gives you lemons…” except on a cosmic scale, and the lemons are sin. And I think that sometimes He lets Satan do stuff. But even if Satan wins a battle, He will certainly not win the war. 

Well, I don’t want to make any more gross presumptions about the very nature of God. Take what I say with a grain of salt, if you would.

But be on the look out!

Just search your heart. You many not be pleased with what you find- but there’s no mess that can’t be cleaned up. There’s no sin that can’t be forgiven. 

Leave a Reply

