The Magnificence of the Status Quo

Things are changing all the time. Sometimes, I look back on my life, on my early childhood- and I can’t imagine how I got I am where I am today. It’s like I’m another person living another life. And then, at the exact same time- it isn’t.

For the past few years, my life has been pretty stagnant. My circumstances remain in what I often view as a pathetic rut. As the theme some of Friends puts it, “It’s like you’re always stuck in second gear.” Many of the changes I would like to see seem as impossible as ever.

I think most of us have seen sitcoms before. We often wonder why characters put up with other characters and why certain “necessary” changes aren’t made for extended periods of time, or ever. And more often than not, when major earth-shattering plot twists emerge, they are resolved and smoothed over within the thirty minutes.

Why is this? Why this relentless gravitational pull towards the status quo that coexists with the upward forces of growth and change? Why is it that despite our yearnings for improvement, we so often find ourselves stuck with the same-old-same-old?

Why does Leonard from the Big Bang Theory continue to room with Sheldon even though he’s a lunatic?

We get emotionally attached to our problems sometimes. You deny it now- but if all your problems were solved, how would you feel? Sometimes, the alternatives to our situation aren’t any better. In time, we tend to miss the past, even if it seemed less than perfect while we were living through it.

Sometimes, God knows what’s best for it. There’s a reason for change, and there’s a reason for the status quo just the same. When I really think about it, I do recognize the ways in which my circumstances are suited to my lifestyle and personality. The only problem is that I still complain and dream in vain of better days.

I do not mean to be insensitive in this post. There is a difference between the minor struggles that I have referred to and traumatic life crises. I do not propose to have a tightly packaged explanation for the latter. But I do know that for some of us, the status quo is our best friend. But even best friends come and go. And one day, more likely than not, we’ll come to cherish the memory of the annoying companion that we reluctantly put up with today.

Leave a Reply

