Having Nothing

People open their mouths to jeer at me; they strike my cheek in scorn and unite together against me. God has turned me over to the ungodly and thrown me into the clutches of the wicked. All was well with me, but he shattered me; he seized me by the neck and crushed me. He has made me his target; his archers surround me. Without pity, he pierces my kidneys and spills my gall on the ground. Again and again he bursts upon me; he rushes at me like a warrior. (Job 16:10-14 NIV)

Usually, it seems that there is a kind.of justice in the world. People get certain gifts, certain blessings, certain things, even if those things are not part of their ideal vision for a “better life.” Some people may think of this as the “Invisible hand” in literal, capitalistic terms. Others may think of it as fate, or perhaps liken it to a game of cards (eg. We all get dealt a hand, good or bad or both). But Christians generally think of it as God’s will or God’s plan. Something that is not entirely dependent on actions, merit, luck, or coincidence, but something that has great meaning.

So it seems like most of us get something. We may be severely lacking in one department, but maybe we also have consolations, pleasures, and joys in our everyday lives. Maybe we have certain things that other people don’t have, while lacking things that other people do possess so effortlessly. So it’s kind of a tradeoff.

And then, it seems like some people have absolutely nothing. Look at Job- his family died, his health is in shambles, he has no possessions, everyone hates him… The only thing he has left is God, but he wonders if even God has abandoned him. There are probably a lot more people like this than we may think… people living on the margins of society, who seem to have neither material possessions, a reliable food source, family, reputation, friends, or purpose.

It doesn’t seem fair. It doesn’t make much sense. Let’s all say a prayer for those people out there, and maybe we can do something about it too.

 

Leave a Reply

