A Figurative Pitstop

In my quest to find out what good Christian fiction is and how to do it, I came across a beloved kid’s book called, “A Wrinkle in Time.” I decided to give it a shot. Whatever it is, it’s got to be better than some of the other stuff that’s being marketed nowadays. I mean that in the nicest way possible. The joke’s really on me, it’s not like I figured out how to get published.

“It was a dark and stormy night” is the very first line. So that’s where the old cliche comes from, I think to myself while cringing a little. I am wondering if it’s possible for me to get my four dollars back from Amazon.

This is not the only cliche used in the book. But I do not, by any means, take back what I said about it being better than a lot of OJ pulp I’ve read. Sure, it’s a kid’s book, but there’s still something to be learned from it. It’s not like what I’m writing just oozes sophistication anyway.

It’s not the writing that I question. All that it “lacks” is lacking necessarily, because it’s for kids. The characters are believable, the settings imaginative, and the ideas packaged in such a way that they seem original. Meg is a favorite misunderstood outcast. And Charles Wallace is simply a delight.

I only question the “Christian” designation. At times it seems Christian. It certainly quotes enough Bible verses. But the overall theme seems to be more leaning towards some kind of humanism. The classic and worn good vs. evil battle. Yawn.

So I suppose I’m a little disappointed. Who can even tell what’s Christian fiction and what isn’t? Where’s the market? Fellow writers- it looks like we have work to do.

Leave a Reply

