The Head of Woman

I used to be a little bitter towards God for making me as a female. I didn’t know what my eternal soul had done prior to birth to deserve such a punishment. How is it fair, God, that some people are simply born weak and inferior and there’s not a thing they can do about it? Why have I been cursed with the prospect of childbearing, of subordination? Why is it that for the rest of my life I will always feel uncomfortable in leadership positions? If I am successful, I may be labeled as a “power hungry ______.” What kind of a life is that? What is the true place for a woman?

Thus, it was not a lack of women’s rights that I resented, not the order of the world, simply the fact that God placed this burden on me.

I did not always enjoy being feminine. Being feminine meant I was weak. As a child, my parents used it as a reason to shelter me from the world. I fell in love with this ideal of someone who was strong, competent, rational, someone the opposite of myself, essentially. I wasn’t completely sure if I wanted to have a person like that or if I wanted to be a person like that. I wasn’t lesbian… just very uncertain and uncomfortable about life.

Playing the part of a “strong, vigorous man” in a high school play may have further complicated things.

I bring this up not for the sole purpose of making you uncomfortable. Maybe you can relate to some of my thoughts. I’m sure most women have casually expressed wishes to be a man. It seems to us that men get to do whatever they want without having to worry about monthly inconveniences or pregnancies. And maybe some men entertain thoughts of what if would be like if they were women, because we seem to have it easy. The grass is always a little greener, isn’t it?

Since then, things have improved. Not that I have come to completely embrace and understand womanhood, but I think I am on better terms with the idea than I was previously. I found it comforting that there was a female prophetess, Deborah in the Old Testament.

Seeing the consequences of a woman taking complete control of a marriage has also helped me to understand why man is the head of woman and God, the head of Christ (see 1 Corinthians 11, which may also convince you to wear head coverings). But not that the husband should completely control the marriage either. Is that love?

The fact is that sometimes we are a bit irrational  (and with all the hormones, who can blame us?) And we are, on average, of course, weaker than men. But guess what? Men are just a little better. In this life, at least, they have the upper hand. And that’s okay.

They can characterize us as mindless creatures who just like shiny things. But the joke’s really on them, because they can become so obsessed with us that they make total fools of themselves.

Should Christ be ashamed that the Father is His head? No! Does that make Christ nothing? No! We are not servants of ourselves anyway, but servants of God. Why is it so awful that man is our “head?” It is just a channel through which God is our head.

And let’s face it, maybe at times we could use another head.

We are important. We are beautiful. We can multitask. The population would die out without us, and no one would talk about their feelings. The world has shown us that we can do whatever we set our minds to. But God has shown us the importance of humility, which is important for everyone, really.

5 comments on “The Head of Woman

  1. Akriti says:

    You have written this post with a deep sense of sentiment. You know where you nailed your post? Here –

    “We are important. We are beautiful. We can multitask. The population would die out without us, and no one would talk about their feelings. The world has shown us that we can do whatever we set our minds to. But God has shown us the importance of humility, which is important for everyone, really.”

    So believe in what you’ve written and never allow anyone to dominate you because love is in equality , not in suppression

    Excellent post 🙂

  2. missmaddie95 says:

    Great post, and great blog! We are not inferior to men; rather, society manipulates us into believing so. Care to check out my blog? Downwiththenorm.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

