Rising from the Underground

If you read my blog, you would know that I am not exactly known for my common sense / street smarts. Does it surprise you that I got lost looking for a restaurant today, for a very stupid reason? And yet, sometimes getting lost is the precursor to getting found.

I certainly complained about it in an effort to garner validation and sympathy (this will make sense to you if you have done it before). But God found me today. He found me when I was lost. He was there, probably laughing, as He watched me attempting to parallel park. He found me at the restaurant, talking to my friend. He found me a bunch of other times too, maybe liking what I was doing, but probably not. Do you know what’s weird? There were several times today that I didn’t even feel socially awkward. I just felt like a… person. Not an alien. 

I was so close, so close to something that I’ve been looking for for a long time. Freedom, literal and spiritual. Friendship- it seems like if I just reached out my hand a little bit I could grasp it. 

Yet something tells me that it’s all a phantom. A passing illusion. Tomorrow I’m sure it’ll all be gone. And you know what- I guess that’s okay. It’s always better to experience something, even if it gets snatched away later on. 

The world is but a blink of the eye. We can try to make sense of it. We can try to survive in it, but if that is our main goal, we have missed the point of it all, we have overlooked the very reason for survival.

So we take what we can get while we’re here. We try to work with what we have. But in the end, it doesn’t matter. If we have spiritual bonds with fellow believers, if we at the very least have God on our side, then who cares about the rest? 

Leave a Reply

